2018 Installation of New President and Board of Directors

Optimist Installation Dinner Pic 2018 CroppedFrom left to right - Tom Neal, Phyllis Pheeney, Barrie Armstrong, Cathy Neal,
Ken Wasmer, Richard Burrous, Roxanne Fitzpatrick, Carol Ahmed, Laura Stewart,
Bruce Fowler and Anna Durham.

Farmington/Farmington Hills Optimist Club installs
new President and Board of Directors

Farmington, Michigan— On Tuesday, September 12, the Farmington/Farmington Hills Optimist Club
began its 35th anniversary year by installing a new President, Ken Wasmer, of Farmington Hills, and a new slate of Board of Directors.

Members and their guests gathered at the Greek Island Bar and Grille located at the Farmington Hills Golf Course for the Installation Dinner. Roxanne Fitzpatrick, Michigan District Optimist Lt. Governor, presided over the Swearing In Ceremony.

Members of the Board are Carol Ahmed, Barrie Armstrong (past President), Diane Bauman, Richard Burrous, Anna Durham, Roxanne Fitzpatrick, Bruce Fowler, Cathy Neal, Tom Neal, Phyllis Pheeney, Laura Stewart.

Awards were given to several members: Optimist of the Year, Barrie Armstrong, Life Member, Laura Stewart, President’s Award, Anna Durham and Years of Service: Gerry Wasen 30 years, Diane Bauman 20 years and Richard Lerner 10 years.

The Optimists work to support children in the community through Jr. Optimist Clubs in the local schools, Essay and Oratorical Contests, as well as community service projects such as Rouge Rescue, support of the local PTAs and the Farmington/Farmington Hills Education Foundation. Through
involvement in the Jr. Optimists Clubs, each child learns about helping others, leadership, and being part of a community.

The Farmington/Farmington Hills Optimists meet Wednesday mornings at John Cowley and Sons Pub in downtown Farmington at 7:30 a.m. Each meeting includes a speaker and breakfast and we welcome new people to visit with us to learn about us and how much they would enjoy meeting other community members and leaders and helping our youth.